Student Travel Grants

Travel assistance to help defray the costs of attending the annual meetings is available for graduate students. Applicants are asked to include an abstract of their paper and to provide their contact information, name of their academic advisor, academic program status (MA, ABD, etc.), if they have attended the SSSR meetings before, their SSSR program status (presenting, co author but not presenting, etc.), and any additional sources of funding such as departmental travel assistance or some similar funding.

Applicants should fill out all the required information and submit electronically by April 15, 2024. Awardees will be notified by email by May 15, 2024 so they can plan accordingly. While it will be necessary for students to go online and pre-register using a special code provided by the Executive Office, the registration fee is included as part of the grant. Checks will be distributed in person at the SSSR meeting.


Rachel Ellis (University of Maryland), Chair

Anna Holleman (Duke University)

Esmeralda Sánchez Salazar (Rice University)

Valentina Cantori (University of Southern California)


King'asia Mamati, University of Cologne

Anna Milewski, University of Wisconsin-Madison

Abdul Basit Adeel, Pennsylvania State University

Dunja Arandjelovic, Clemson University

Diane Beckman, UMass Boston

Moses Biney, Rice University

Valentina Cantori, University of Southern California

Angel Clark, Boston University

Daniel Cueto-Villalobos, University of Minnesota

Samina Hossain, University of Wisconsin-Madison

Ruiqian Li, Baylor University


Andrew Chalfoun, University of California, Los Angeles

Miray Philips, University of Minnesota

Samir Sweida-Metwally, University of Bristol

Chit Wai John Mok, University of California, Irvine

Bernard DiGregorio, West Virginia University

Laila Noureldin, The University of Chicago

Christopher Seto, Pennsylvania State University

Bonnie Cherry, University of California, Berkeley

Luther Young, The Ohio State University

Ruiqian Li, Baylor University

Ojo Joseph Rapheal, University of Ghana

Laura Gilbertson, University of Minnesota


Kerby Goff, Penn State University

Popy Begum, Rutgers University-Newark

Bianca Mabute-Louie, Rice University

Nadia Beider, Hebrew University

Helal Hossain Dhali, McGill University

Casey Homan, University of California, Berkeley

Iman Said, Penn State University

Jeyoul Choi, University of Florida


Sean Bock, Harvard University

Jeyoul Choi, University of Florida

Christine Delp, University of Minnesota

Jauhara Ferguson, Rice University

Claire Chipman Gilliland, UNC Chapel Hill

Esmeralda Sanchez Salazar, Rice University